Do you have any tips for dealing with really conservative and bigoted theology teachers without becoming an angry foaming rage-ball

engrprof:

notbecauseofvictories:

ahaha

anon

have I not told the story about how two years of brutal drawn-out arguments with my conservative, bigoted theology teacher made me Catholic? I read Aquinas just to demonstrate that the “small government” ideals she liked to preach were not inherently Catholic. I wrote perfect perfect papers on the existence of female priests and deacons within the early Church and dared her to take off points. My copy of the catechism still has sticky tabs in it, from passages I referenced. I became Catholic for her. Because I refused to believe she was all there was.

(I mean, I also used to say shit just to get her riled up. That was a thing too. She never did say whether the Church approves of BDSM as long as it remains open to life.)

So my solution is to embrace the angry foaming rage-ball. Become the angry foaming rage-ball. Articulate the ever-loving Christ out of the rage ball because there’s nothing more dangerous or real than someone pissed that you are misrepresenting their God and can say why.

I mean, Jesus wasn’t flipping tables in a nice way.

It’s true.
WWJD? Flipping tables and chasing people with whips is an option.
And who was He after? Those who were using power to defraud the poor.

Leave a comment