Like I kinda get what they’re trying to do w/ Ziggler, and it might work. I will allow that it might work. They’re setting him up as a stand-in for the portion of the audience who would make fun of Shinsuke’s accent/mannerisms/race/appearance/etc. and refer to him as ‘over-hyped’ or ‘internet darling’ or whatever.
But like…I dunno that my confidence is raised by the fact that they thought it was necessary to do that first & foremost & immediately, because it could also be read as giving voice and platform to those baseless criticisms, and maybe even putting words in the heads of ppl who would look at an ESL Japanese man who barely brushes his exquisite fingers against gender norms, and describe their discomfort as “I just don’t like him”
When they could have just unleashed him immediately and he could have silenced anything that needed silencing, by being amazing, in the damn ring.
We’ve already got WHAT-ers, ok? I don’t know if that would have happened, if he’d hit the main roster and had a fantastic match as an introduction rather than first being put in the unenviable position of trying to counter Ziggy the white supremacist clown’s racist & nonsensical promo in english, with a mouthguard in.
(I’m seriously never gonna forgive Ziggler for that shit, dude was already questionable but)
And the other danger is like…when people of that get made fun of and then see the strawman intended as representing them get his ass beat…like…I’m not entirely sure their response will be “Hey this guy is awesome” so much as “How DARE they have a BELOVED VETERAN like Ziggler lose to this *racial slur*” and then it’s all downhill to hostile reactions from there. How many loudmouthed assholes in a crowd, does it take to overwhelm that crowd? I don’t wanna find out.